Thread: Feeling Overwhelmed

Default Feeling Overwhelmed

This is my first time posting on Simply Classical, but as I was perusing threads that fit with the new diagnosis we just received for our 8 year old daughter, I also found that others have experience with children who deal with anxiety, which is what has our oldest has battled. After years of trying to figure out how to help our oldest child (now 12)/what was wrong, and numerous doctors, naturopaths, supplements, diagnoses,and medicine (finding that some medicines actually made her symptoms worse), I think we are finally at a more manageable place. The counselor and psychiatrist that work with her believe that she has a mood disorder, some sensory processing issues, and anxiety. Because my oldest needed so much help and her symptoms were so obvious, I didn't notice the difficulty my middle daughter was having with school until I started homeschooling both of them last year. Her frustration level about tasks that she had the ability to complete was not proportional to her intelligence, and I felt something was wrong.

So, today, my husband and I just finished meeting with the psychologist that performed a complete battery of testing to determine where the frustration is coming from, and she has been diagnosed with ADHD and depression. I felt some relief that there really is something going on, and that now we know what it is and have some tools to help, but my husband and I also feel guilty and overwhelmed. It's so hard to hear that your children deal with anxiety or depression when they are so young and our hope and prayers for them are to be able to enjoy childhood and the wonder that goes along with it, not to be suffering with anxiety and depression. Our schoolroom is also a bit dramatic at times with our varied needs.