Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Simply Classical for Reluctant Writer?

Default Simply Classical for Reluctant Writer?

Hello,
    I am relatively new to MP - this is our first year with a full core and I just discovered the forums in the spring, however I have been using MP products piecemeal for a few years. I posted this issue on the K-8 board early in June and received encouraging advice, which included the suggestion to post here as well.

So - I have an 11.5 year-old-son who is a very reluctant writer (this is partly why I never purchased a full core before) - he is painfully reluctant to any amount of written work and we have fought about it for years and I truncate things as much as possible and do lots of oral work, which he enjoys. My question is how much I should push the writing - or rather, what can I do so that we don't have this fight. It has come to the point where I would rather work entirely orally with him because the pain of pushing for written work causes too much fighting. He is smart - has good printing and cursive when he does it. He loves good stories, enjoys being read to, remembers details, enjoys oral quizzes about the material. I purchased grade 4 for he and his almost 10-year-old brother, but probably my older son could move through it more quickly, especially if he is not writing. Because he isn't writing, it is difficult to work on spelling with him and although he reads fairly well (for his age, I think), his spelling isn't very good.