Thread: Should I test my son for a learning disability?

Question Should I test my son for a learning disability?

Hello,
    This is my first time on here so forgive me if I do it wrong in some way. I have a nine year old son who is very intelligent but he sometimes struggles in ways that confuse me. I am wondering if he has a touch of dyslexia or something similar that makes certain things a tad harder it's possible he doesn't I simply don't know so I am asking if I should have him tested. The things he does that I notice: needs quiet to focus (needs this cannot focus with siblings around), holds pencil incorrectly has been taught since age 3 to hold it properly still tries to hold it with thumb on one side and all four fingers on the other, writes many letters wrong i.e. starting from the bottom instead of the top, consistently writes 3 backwards and has trouble with 5 and 6, b and d confusion, can sometimes read with perfect retention sometimes none, and his spelling is simply awful he only writes the consonants and if you do teach him to spell a word in spelling he tends to switch the consonant and vowels especially words that end in e. This is my first kid and still pretty new to homeschooling so it's possible that this is all perfectly normal and i am just spazzing about nothing but I don't know and I am hoping you will and I can figure out the best way to proceed if we just need to keep going and he'll get it, my spelling didn't click till around eighth grade, or if he might need to be taught differently to account for a learning disability. Thank you so very much.
    Natalie

Default Re: Should I test my son for a learning disability?

Quote Originally Posted by Riviliana View Post
    Hello,