Start up cost and ordering of days

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Start up cost and ordering of days

Hello! I'm new to posting in the forums but I've been browsing for a few years now :-)

My friend and I are opening a cottage school in August 2021 (hopefully trademarking with HLS, that meeting is this week).

We have already secured a building, we know our insurance options, LLC, and are ready to move full speed ahead with planning as soon as we know if we can trademark with HLS.

I have two questions, the first being the initial costs associated with opening a cottage school before families pay fees and tuition- how did you, or do you, fund the early expenses? Such as advertising, website hosting, office supplies, printing costs, signage, etc. Thankfully these are not big-ticket expenses (although signs maybe?). Did you self fund and consider it investing in your vision? Did you use your money upfront and then "pay yourself back" once registrations begin coming in? Did you pay for it and then subtract that amount from your own children's tuition? Did you take a business loan out, or use a credit card? Fundraisers?

All of these seem like they would be ways one could go, I just wanted to see if there was a common/general way most people do it. For those who don't mind talking about money ;-)

My second question is about scheduling for cottage school. We had envisioned meeting on Monday and Wednesdays or Monday and Thursday- the "vital" day being Monday, the start of the week to set precedence for the days to follow. However, our building is not available on Mondays. So we're choosing Tuesday and Thursdays but now are unsure how to "start" the week on a Tuesday when the children are home the first day? Any ideas would be helpful.

Welcome!

Question 2 first: