Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Learning to write - MPOA edition

Scott,

over on the 9-12 board I posted something similar in regards to MP to develop resources to help teach the practical skills of writing on history/literature/research. The responses generally seemed to follow (my paraphrase) the line that classical composition teaches the thinking skills, but that actually learning to write should be accomplished in history, literature, and classical studies. The responses indicated that there should be opportunities to work through the process of writing and revision and that there should be tie in between what was learned in CC and modern essay forms. I am a decent writer, but I never learned how to teach writing to others so I prefer to have someone take this over. My daughter took all the levels of CC through MPOA and did well, but I still felt she needed instruction on applying those skills to writing about literature. I guess I made the assumption that MPOA literature classes would teach writing about literature and, given the MP commitment to CC, that the literature classes would at least tie in those lessons to the assignments. I selected the short novel class because I thought that one of the lower level classes would still be teaching the writing process. The class session was dedicated to the literature discussion, but with the exception of a few comprehension quizzes and participation the grade was based on writing assignments. However, there was minimal instruction in writing, no tie in to CC, and delayed/minimal feedback. Part way through the semester the teacher let the class rewrite some selected posts with some additional feedback, but it seemed to be on an individual basis.