Classical Composition-Narrative

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Classical Composition-Narrative

Hello, I am struggling to teach Classical Composition, which is very frustrating for me because I am a former high school English teacher. I feel like this should come more easily for me since I have a degree in it, but of course, I was educated using progressive methods. I find the DVDs very helpful in teaching the new figures of description, but there seems to be a discrepancy between the Classical Composition books and DVDs.

For example, we're working on Narrative stage Lesson 15, Variations pt 1. The DVD says to use metalepsis in the examples, but the book says to use hyperbole and diminutio (but those two aren't explained on the DVD). Do you use one or the other or all three? It's easier for him to understand them when he watches the DVD, so I'm inclined to just go with the DVD, but in this particular case, we're really struggling with metalepsis. Since the book does not give an example of metalepsis (for this lesson), I'm not sure what he's getting at. And yes, I have reviewed the explanation and examples in the back of the book.

Thank you for your help!
    Pam

Re: Classical Composition-Narrative

Originally posted by woolery81 View Post
    Hello, I am struggling to teach Classical Composition, which is very frustrating for me because I am a former high school English teacher. I feel like this should come more easily for me since I have a degree in it, but of course, I was educated using progressive methods. I find the DVDs very helpful in teaching the new figures of description, but there seems to be a discrepancy between the Classical Composition books and DVDs.