OT: fascinating interview on Surprised by Beauty

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OT: fascinating interview on Surprised by Beauty

I just thought I would share this excellent interview. Has anyone read the book?

https://www.mercatornet.com/features...the-soul/19873
    DD 12, using 6M core with 7th Grade COTR
    DS 10, using 5M core

Re: OT: fascinating interview on Surprised by Beauty

Maria,

Thank you for sharing that! I haven't read the book but find the topic of music both fascinating and intimidating. I try to have my children listen to good music because I don't think I was exposed to enough of it as a child. I actually did not enjoy classical music hardly at all before the last year or two. This homeschooling journey has been life changing already and I'm only a couple of years in.

Emily
    2019-20
    DS--9, 3M/4M
    DD--7, mix of 1 and 2
    DD--5, MP K
    DS--3
    DS--1

Comment

So glad you enjoyed it- as a former music teacher I strongly support your efforts to have your children listen to music that has lasting value. One of the biggest reasons our culture has thrown music away, is simply because we never listened to anything but "twaddle" as children, which means that our ears were never properly trained to recognize form and harmony when we hear it. The more you and your kids listen, the less intimidated and the more enthralled you will become. Repetitive listening is the way to go- listen the same thing, over and over again, and eventually it will sound more and more amazing to you. Keep adding things to your listening repertoire, and you will fall in love.
      DS 10, using 5M core

Comment

On this "note," (ha!) my dad recently gave me a book titled, "The Power of Music," by Elena Mannes. It is on the power music has to actually affect us, not just because we appreciate it. I have not read it yet, but he said it was fascinating. I hope to make it a summer read - with everything else piling up for summer!

AMDG,