Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about recitation vs flashcards vs review box

Hi Everyone,

I ended up ordering the 4th-grade core curriculum for new users to use with my 9-year-old DD and 10-year-old DS. WELL----We had our box day the other day!! Everything looks so very nice. I am feeling so optimisitc and excited about this school year.

Before starting Memoria Press, I had always pieced together my own school year using ideas from TWTM and products from Classical Accademic press / Simply Charlotte Mason / Classical Conversations. I had thought that I was doing a decent job....but I realize now that these complete cores are SO much better than what i was putting together on my own. (As an added bonus, I think I am going to have my summer free of planning. Yipee!)

As it is my first time using a core, I had a couple of questions about the best way to conduct recitations and subject reviews.
    Ideally, would I start the day off using the recitation from the appendix?
    How do the subject flashcards fit in with the review box in the appendix? Are the flashcards supposed to be filed in the review box or something separate? (Latin, Geography, astronomy, lit vocab, greek myths, Bible memory, etc.)
    How often should I use the flashcards for each subject? Is it best to review subjects separately or everything together?

Thanks so much!
    Cathy
    Cathy aka The Attached Mama
    2019-2020
    DS 12, 7th Grade
    DD 11, 6th Grade
    DS 5, K

Re: Question about recitation vs flashcards vs review box

Squeee! I'm so excited for you, mainly because you sound like you were doing what I was doing before going all in with MP...and YAY for having a planning-free summer!