Sell me on the Teacher's Manuals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sell me on the Teacher's Manuals

I jumped into MP this year, but didn't get all the teacher's manuals. I'm trying to decide for next year whether or not to get them all, or to continue as we've been doing. So, how helpful have you found the teacher's manuals to be? Especially English Grammar Recitation, and First and Second Form Latin.

I studied Latin for many years, and I've taught some too, so I don't need help with the grammar or the answers. How much info is in the TM's that isn't in the student text? Am I missing any major points that I am supposed to teach the kiddos that isn't in the student book?

Thanks a bunch!
    Amanda - Mama to three crazy boys (7A, 6M, 2), classics major

"Non nisi te, Domine. Non nisi te" - St. Thomas Aquinas

Re: Sell me on the Teacher's Manuals

I find the teacher's manuals for the form series very helpful, but I am learning Latin right along with my kids so I appreciate all the help I can get. The answer key is extremely useful. It makes quick work of checking answers. In my mind I'm comparing it to the TM of a 4th grade math book- yes, I know all the math and can easily solve the problems, but I'd much rather take a quick glance at the answers than have to read and think through each one.
    The answer key also has useful information in the back, such as grammar questions to review daily and vocab drills. And the TM's have nice appendices, too, helpful for recitation.
    We stopped using EGR, but from what I remember the TM was not quite as necessary as for Latin. Of course you need the recitation handbook, but not necessarily the answer key to the workbook.
    2018/2019
    Dd 12: MP 7A and First Form Greek
    Ds 10: MP 5M
    Ds 5: MP K

Comment

I have to say, that I sometimes need the TM for grammar too! Sometimes there is just not enough info for me to help enough with the exercises and I have to check the answers to make sure.