Self-taught V. Teacher-taught

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self-taught V. Teacher-taught

Another thread has me thinking about what subjects I should be offering my girls the most "scaffolding" V. what they self-learn. I am sure I read at some point what MP suggests for students at various grades/subjects. I am sure it isn't getting done "right" so in an attempt to finish the year strong and start better, wiser next year I thought I'd ask how you fabulous MP parents direct conduct subjects. I am constantly feeling guilt that my 5th grader gets ignored because my 3rd is so needy. Here's our breakdown:

3M - Not sure why I need to type it out since almost everything comes with a painful amount of hand holding. Smart kid, young for her age/grade, she is just unmotivated for the most part. (I believe.) She also takes an outside art, robotics, and science class.

RS Math - 50/50 Taught by me, she easily completes the Exercises on own for the most part, loves math
    Latin - Lesson via video with me sitting by her, 50/50 for WB, Puzzles, etc
    Spelling, Grammar, Handwriting - 95% on own after lesson is introduced
    Literature- A painful hand-holding chunk of every day
    IEW - 75% together. She loves to write but still wants me there.
    Christian Studies - 95% together
    Greek Myths - 95% together
    Mammals -95% together
    Geography - Pretty much on her own with lots of prodding
    American Studies - She read on own and I ask her questions, which she has no problem answering

5th (A mash of levels as we started with MP mid-stream) She is highly motivated, bright but I just always feel she gets less attention than she deserves. In addition to this load she takes an art class, Robotics club, Teacher-led book club (they read 30 books last year), Outside Science class w/ labs... and dances 10+ hours /wk

Math - Saxon (for years) 100% self-taught. I will admit to using the solutions manual for guidance myself few times.