Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ancient Romans Dorothy Mills - Is there an easy way to help kids learn maps/timelines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ancient Romans Dorothy Mills - Is there an easy way to help kids learn maps/timelines

I have never used this forum before. My husband told me about it and suggested I ask you all about a problem I was having. So I hope I and doing this right. =)

My oldest son is in 8th grade and we have just went through Dorothy Mills Ancient Romans. He didn't do very well on his tests, mostly because of the numerous places and dates he was supposed to learn. So I was wondering if there was an easier way to teach those to him outside of just memorizing. The book says to create a timeline and create a map. Is there maps and timelines that are premade that would go well with the Ancient Romans lessons? Or are we supposed to create a map and timeline ourselves? I plan on doing this same unit with my other 2 kids but would love to discover an eaiser way to learn dates and places.

Thanks,
    Anna May
    (using husband's log in)

Hi Anna May! I have an eighth grader as well as a fifth grader, so I can share some tips we have learned from the forum and from MP. One thing we do is when we go over a lesson, I look over the quizzes to see what specific information is included, and I tell them so they can highlight it. That way, they clearly know what they will be expected to know for tests and quizzes. No surprises! I have seen that help especially with my son. It narrowed his focus to allow him to study better....because he knew that he would have to know those things.