New to MP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to MP

We have just bought the MP complete curriculum for 6th Grade and 4th Grade, it looks very promising. I have many questions, so I thought I'd list them in bullet point style to hopefully make for easier reading:

1. How much time should we daily plan for each subject for the 6th grade curriculum? (The "6th Grade Curriculum Lesson Plans" booklet does not contain a suggested schedule, the 4th grade one does.)
    2. Would it be best to teach Latin Christiana I to both students at the same time, or should the 6th grader start with Latin I? (This is my first time doing Latin too.) The Latin Christiana seems like it may be too simplistic for my 6th grader, but I'm not sure. I'm concerned about keeping up with reading aloud to both of them, following along with their Latin, and teaching them Math.
    3. We have also never done recitation before, where do we start given that both kids are a bit older and have been ALP students up till now?
    4. Any suggestions for which subjects to begin with never having done a Classical Education model before?
    5.Which subjects require the most time, energy, thought and preparation?
    6. In the fourth lesson grade lesson plan, it instructs to read "Ben and Me" by Robert Lawson. Was this supposed to be included in the core curriculum package, or is this a book we need to purchase or take out the library?

Thank you so much for your help!

Hello and welcome! You have a lot of great questions, and hopefully we will be able to get them all addressed for you!