Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help a "newbie" with 6th grade plans, please

Hi all-
    I made one post in May and realize that I am not closer to a plan for hs'ing my rising 6th grader. Quick background: I am a ps teacher who just left the ps to HS my son this fall. He will be HS'ed for 6th, 7th, and 8th. This is largely due to the Common Core and my lack of confidence in how our school is approaching it.

What I have been most impressed/shocked with during my time as a ps teacher, is how children DO NOT learn. I think I would have never been good at math if I had had the curriculum they use. I have wept at what I've seen and can no longer be a part it.

Back to my son. I would be so thankful if I could get help with a 3 year plan. I would just order the 6th core if I thought that was best, but I'm unsure. He is uneven in skills. He is fidgety and, like all other 5th graders at his school, had too much screen time at school and needs to get a better work ethic.

Math: His strong area is math, but does not think he is good at. I think he got burned out from the "explain how you got your answer" sentences/paragraphs ad nauseum that he has had. My dh, an engineer, agrees son is math bright and wants him challenged. I "after schooled" Singapore K and 1 with him and made sure he had mastery of the facts when younger.

Science: hates it. I blame ps, because science should appeal to young children.

Classical studies: here is where I need the most help. I think he would love the Famous Men books. Since this is for 3 years, I thought of using the 3 Dorothy Mills Books, one for each year, adding in the Famous men. But I don't know if that is silly or not.

Geography: I assume start with Geography 1? (He knows the states, but not capitals)

Modern: I think stick with the 6th grade plan?

Timeline: I definitely want to add this