Where do I begin MP with a 7th grader?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where do I begin MP with a 7th grader?

My son will be 7th grade next fall. I plan to finish out using our Sonlight Core E this year but am seriously considering switching to MP. We have mostly done Sonlight and Five in a Row. We have been light with language arts, just doing hodge podge of things with composition and grammar. He struggles with spelling and we have been using All About Spelling. He reads average. We use Math U See and Life of Fred for math and Apologia for science.

So what do I use of MP, can we still use our math and spelling and science we are now?
    What subjects and what materials should I consider starting out with?

Thanks for any advice.

I am not an expert by any means, but I can tell you what we are doing with our seventh grader this year...

We are starting over with MP next week...My seventh grader will do the 6th grade package, but with Latina Christina I instead of First Form...I thought an easier transition into Latin would be better for him than starting with First Form...He is also starting with Classical Composition Fable Stage for half the year, then the second book (can't remember the name) for the second half of the year...He will do only half of the Classical Composition books until he catches up, so he will cover four books in the next two years...We are holding off on Greek Studies for now until he has had at least a few years of Latin...My son is also an average reader, but has some difficulty with comprehension...The 6th grade package seems to be a better place to start Classical studies for older kids than the 7th grade package...He will get to study the Trojan War and Famous Men of Greece before moving on to reading Homer...