Stick with 1st or move on?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stick with 1st or move on?

Hi, I am new to MP this year and we love it! I went to our conference the year with the sole purpose of finding a curriculum that was more challenging for my daughter and that I loved and MP is definitely it. We like to do our school year starting in July and ending in early spring so we can enjoy the nice weather, so at this point we are finishing up week 11. The great part is my daughter and son who we decided to start in K both love it and are doing fantastic. What I am not sure about is my daughter seems to be having too easy of a time with it. She is a fairly young first grader as her birthday is in April, but she is a fantastic reader and writer and sails through everything so far. Should I let her have a fairly easy year of it and take it easy or should I skip the rest of first and have her start the second grade set? She is easily finishing everything in the plans in about an hour a day and we typically combine the 5 days into 4 already to have an extra day for going out, etc. The math she flies through as well and has no trouble with. The only things I am really concerned about her missing out on are the recitation and the cursive she would still need to finish the first book. Does second grade recitation repeat a lot of stuff that is in first? I also thought about maybe just starting the second grade literature and continuing with the rest on schedule. For now we are just moving at a quicker pace, but it really does seem to simple and I want to make sure she is staying challenged, but also not miss anything vital by not finishing the first grade set. Sorry if that doesn't make any sense. Just looking for some guidance on what too do with her. Thanks!