Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please help me let go of Ambleside Online

Hi Everyone,
    This is my first post ever on this forum. I have been using AO for 2 years now. I have a 3rd grader finishing up Year 2 readings. I have a 1st grader who is supposed to start Year 1 readings next year, and a 5 year old who is chomping at the bits to learn to read....and I have a baby on the way in October. I love the richness of the AO literature, albeit sometimes I feel that it's too advanced and that I have to explain just about everything. And I have a voracious reader! I love the structure of my day (Morning Time, Math, Language Arts, Reading, Narration). However....
    1. I find myself searching for guides to go along with Year 3 readings next year because I want something that will make sure she gets the most out of the vocabulary, map work, and content.
    2. I am searching for a language arts curriculum because I don't completely trust the "natural method".
    3. I find that oral, written or drawn narrations become rushed if there is something else to do afterward.
    4. I feel that I want my children to have certain skills such as: searching for answers to questions vs. just writing or talking about what "struck them" as interesting
    5. I feel that it's on my shoulders to remember what the stories were about from pre-reading, and to make sure that the things I feel are important are noted and marked and narrated, etc.

So perhaps I'm not as CM as I thought because I am in a constant state of low-grade anxiety that my children are capable of SO much more. And it's possible that because things are open-ended in such a way that the kids always want to chince (spelling?) out.

And yet, when I think of letting go of Ambleside, I get nervous that I'll regret it and then have to go back more behind than when we started (I always planned on starting them on the year behind their grade level).