Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Going down to a 4 day school day....whats really important....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going down to a 4 day school day....whats really important....

Hello everyone, this forum has been such a big help for this first year homeschooling 2. Here is some background info before I get to the specific questions. First, I honestly have no clue what I am doing! By the Lord's grace in so many different ways, we have had a rather successful year. Ive been able to stay on track, my girls are growing in truth, knowledge, and maturity, and we are loving this journey the Lord has called us to. I have zero background in education and yet, the Lord called me to this Classical style. We are loving MP for K and 1st grade and will be moving to full core next year minus math.. i just love Math-U-See and the girls respond to it so well. Here's my trouble. My husband works off-shore and our closest "helpful" family we have is 2 hours away. So I have a lot on my plate while he is gone. We have this program here called The Friday Program, (TFP) which was a branch off of a previous Veritas Classical school we had here before it closed a few years ago. There were many parents who had older kids in Veritas but did not want to be fully committed to the school for younger kids or just other people who didnt want full time classes. So they created TFP. It is an option we are considering for next year and possibily the upcoming years (just take it year by year). I have a type A personality when it comes to education for my girls and I am a box-checker. I am a big down-the-road big picture thinker and am always planning and thinking ahead. I am really intrigued by the program. My oldest struggles making friends and my girls are so attached to each other (which isnt a bad thing) that when we do have a play date with friends, my girls tend to play by themselves together. I believe it can be a healthy experience for them to have