Creative writing hobby

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Creative writing hobby

My oldest daughter, 11, 5th grade, has been reading and now writing a lot in her spare time for the past year. I feel successful at supporting her reading - however I don’t know much about the world of kids who write
    We just started homeschooling this year, and she’s really enjoying the Fable curriculum. Her writing impresses me, and if we continue homeschooling I’m considering trying the MP online course for narrative so she would have a teacher with a writing background, my background is medicine. I tried to enroll her in the Well Trained Mind creative writing online course back in July, but it was already filled for the 20-21 school year. I’ve heard people mention writing clubs, publishing your own book, and I recall there being state writing contests for kids back when I was in high school. I’d love any recommendations about how to support her in developing her interest.

DS 11 -5th grade core
    DD 11 -5th grade core
    DS 8 -3rd grade core
    DD 6 -1st grade core
    DD 2 -2yo

Bump......

Comment

I have three, strong creative writers here and pretty much all we did was let them write. My 16yo is my strongest writer both academically and creatively and he said that CC has helped both kinds of writing. He doesn’t sit down and think “I learned this in CC so I need to do that here.” He said the influence on his writing has been more of an instinctual thing. My weaker academic writer hasn’t made that connection but he is still a very good creative writer. There is a group of MPOA kids who formed a writing society, but for safety reasons they limit it to current/former classmates and real-life friends of members. I’ve found that writers tend to find each other — I just have to watch who they connect with as some writers can be very dark, even as kids/teens.

All that to say: keep going with CC, just let her write, and see how things go
      Jennifer