New and looking for advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New and looking for advice

Hello to everyone! This is my first time posting on the forum. I currently do not use Memoria Press but I want to. I have been looking at the curriculum for the past year or so and wondering if I should try it. I have been homeschooling since the beginning and have a son 12(just turned) and a daughter 9. I have been using the Charlotte Mason methods in our school since always it seems. However, I did deviate from her methods from time to time. I love Charlotte Mason but find I am just not good at implementing the method and providing my children with what they need educationally. My son has been a late reader and his fluency is really just beginning to pick up. He is also a VERY reluctant writer with terrible spelling. He is not very independent. He likes for me to always be near him while he does his school work. He is however, an excellent narrator and loves to be read to. He has very good comprehension and memory. I think the most discouraging thing is he says constantly that he hates school and has no joy in what we do. I feel like neither of my children are where they should be. I do not feel I have been establishing good habits or laying a proper foundation for the basics of their education. I feel VERY tired and overwhelmed. I worry that high school is approaching and we will not be ready.