3rd Grade Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3rd Grade Question

Hi all! I am new to Memoria Press, we will be making the switch from LifePac and I have started researching/ordering. My oldest will start 3rd grade Fall 2020. Being new to classical education, we will be starting with Prima Latina even though Prima is for 2nd grade (since this will be our first time experience with Latin).

My question is - when looking at the Latin & Grammar section of the 2nd Grade teacher’s manual sample, they have “English Grammar Practice” listed. Should I get this in addition to all the Prima Latina items? Or would I be okay only getting the Prima Latina items, not getting the English Grammar Practice, and getting the 3rd grade grammar items?

thanks in advance! - Regina

In Second Grade the English Grammar Practice abs Core Skills Language Arts will give further practice to the English grammar taught in Prima. The EGP will also review simple capitalization and punctuation introduced in the Copybook program. You are probably fine to go ahead with the English Grammer portion of 3rd grade as it will not be much more difficult.

Comment

Welcome, Regina!

I wanted to add that if you want to do 3rd grade as written, you would be fine skipping Prima and doing Latina Christiana, which is also an introductory course. With the help of the DVDs, you and your student would be just fine, even with no background knowledge. It is spread over two years, giving you 2 weeks to master each lesson.

Either Latin course is fine, but I wanted to make sure you understand that you can skip Prima with no problem at all!

Tanya

Comment

Thank you for the guidance Michelle!

Tanya, I had NO idea! I assumed if we didn’t start with Prima we would both be completely lost. Thank you for telling me that!

Comment

Originally posted by reginawashington View Post
          Thank you for the guidance Michelle!