COTW vs. VideoText

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

COTW vs. VideoText

My 7th grade daughter will finish up Rod and Staff Math Grade 6 in about 3 weeks. I already purchased COTW for Pre-Algebra when I purchased her core last February.

I saw that VideoText includes Pre-Algebra, and I'm trying to decide which would be a better fit for this particular child. Since I have no experience with either math program, I'm at a loss.

My girl is not a strong math student and "hates math" because it doesn't come easily to her. We did Singapore and Math Mammoth through the beginning of 5th grade, then switched to Rod and Staff Math when we switched to MP cores. So she's been through most of 5th grade R&S to fill holes and memorize facts well, plus all of 6th grade R&S.

R&S Math is a great fit for her. The mastery, the simple page layout, and how rules are laid out appeal to her. I do grade her work, and she is a solid B+ student in math.

My original plan was to just start COTW Pre-Algebra when we finished R&S Grade 6, and then move onto Algebra I whenever we finished Pre-A, even if this didn't line up at the beginning of the school year.

Does a child to who is an average math student need a full year of Pre-Algebra? Would the Pre-A in VideoText be sufficient in helping her feel successful in math and understand the more advanced concepts that Pre-Algebra brings?

I don't want to lose any ground with math, so I want to make the best Pre-A decision for her from the start.

(My oldest boy completed only a few sections of Math Mammoth Pre-Algebra. He needs very little review and already knew most of the concepts, so his experience is not helpful in deciding for my 7th grader.)