Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting MP halfway through Grade 2?

Hello!

We are not new to homeschooling, but I am new to MP. I am considering the full second-grade package for my second grade daughter.

We have been using an eclectic approach including Horizons Math, Abeka Spelling, Phonics, Grammar, and Science, and STOW.

I would love any advice about how to start with MP mid-year (now! ). The thought would be we would start with Grade 3 in the fall (August or September). We follow a traditional schedule with a summer break, but I am considering shortening the break this year. DD is our only child and she does attend a one-day a week enrichment program so we would have four days for MP.

If we were to start now, would we be too behind for Grade 3 if we only made it through week 20 of Grade 2? Any other thoughts/suggestions?

Thanks so much!

Much of the beginning of all grades is review, so you could theoretically skip more of the beginning work and pick up in any of the subjects you're doing 7 or 8 weeks in. You could drop Prairie School as a lit selection (provided your daughter's reading is on level) and move right into the next book. There is a lot of reading and rereading that can be truncated for the accelerated reader. Decide if you want to tackle Prima Latina in its entirety. My daughter loved it, as it was only 5 or so words per week, and most of them were repeated in MP3's Latina Christiana, so finishing before you break for summer isn't imperative. If you're doing your own Enrichment, I'm guessing you are skipping MP2 Enrichment? That was one of my daughter's favorite parts, so at least get ahold of the selections from the library and read through them over the year or summer because they're not to be missed.