Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shakespeare

Hello,

I've been haunting the boards for a few years and finally decided to jump in the discussion.

My oldest is going into 2nd and I'd like to start introducing Shakespeare to her. I've hear everything recommended from just reading excerpts straight out of the plays to presenting the stories in kid's picture books first so they have a grasp on the plot before delving into language. I recently received a children's picture book that includes Midsummer's Night's Dream, Hamlet, Macbeth, Romeo and Juliet, etc. and perusing through it I re-realized just how much of his plays depend on murder, suicide, unrequited love, fickle love, cruelty and a whole slew of other things I'd rather my kids not internalize. How do you work through these things holding up Shakespeare as a pillar of western literature and literary greatness while not inadvertently endorsing the characters' choices? Perhaps 7.5 is too young to start? Should i just hold off?

All thoughts welcome.