3rd grade Math Help. R&S

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3rd grade Math Help. R&S

I've been doing Saxon math for 2 years now. Math 1 for my K son, and Math 1 and 2 for my daughter in 1st and then 2nd grade.
    The reason why I use it is because it tells me exactly what to say. I'm not good at teaching math. I really need the hand holding.

I'm thinking of switching both to Rod and Staff.
    I would do the second half of math 1 as scheduled for 1st grade, and math 3 for my daughter.
    Is it as easy to teach like Saxon?
    Having done the spiral approach, I think the mastery would be a good change for us.
    And i think I'm seeing that lessons are short? I could really use that...I have a growing 6 month old and a rambunctious toddler.

Does anyone have experience going from Saxon to R&S?
    Last edited by Heathersaysyeah; 07-05-2019, 11:05 PM.
    DD 5th
    DS 3rd
    DS K/1
    DS 3 yr old

Yes! We went directly from Saxon 2 (having done Horizon, ShillerMath, Spectrum, and some BJU and Math-U-See) to R&S 1. I could not believe how behind the spiral approach left my eldest. The grouping that Saxon did with math facts never led to mastery. She always had to count up or count back for problems. We bought the workbook only portion of R&S Arithmetic 1 to compress over the summer and then moved into Arithmetic 2 for the next year. As she mastered all facts (quickly and down cold: 60 mixed add/sub facts in 1 minute), we moved in to multiplication. At the end of R&S Arithmetic 2, they get into the 1s, 2s, 5s and 10s. We're working on her memorizing those. Arithmetic 3 will be straight memorization of multiplication and division facts with some fractions, money, word problems, etc.