Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New User Placement Help

Hello!

I am new to MP, and I need a bit of help deciding where to place my oldest. She will turn 9 at the end of June, and she is finishing up MODG 3rd grade with Singapore Math 3. She was an early reader and can now read middle-school-level books at lightening speed. Her math skills are fine, but she is not very fast with multiplication/division above the five table. At almost-9, I am definitely getting more resistance from her in her school work. She is also very small for her age and socially awkward.

Our current plan is to work on math fact speed over the summer as well as Prima Latina (started a few weeks ago), Mr. Popper's Penguins (to get a feel for the Lit guides), and Intro to Composition (sentence-construction practice). We all do better if schoolwork doesn't come to a screeching halt in the summer. I was then planning to start her with the 4th for New Users in the fall, but I wonder if she wouldn't be better off in the long run if we just start with 3rd as we transition to the new curriculum.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hello.

I think Fourth Grade for New Users would be a perfect fit for your daughter next year. And I love what you are doing this summer. Your summer work is a perfect preparation for MP materials.

Tanya

Comment

I am familiar with MODG! You may find the writing in MP to overwhelm in the beginning, so just know that every question does not need to be answered in writing at the beginning! You can work up to more writing. Also, at this level, you use the guide for good oral discussion, but you want her answers in complete sentences. She will orally answer the question, you help her form a good sentence with that answer, then you write it on the board, a piece of paper, wherever and she copies it! (This is similar to how you do the Bible retelling, etc in MODG3).
      Christine

(2019/2020)
      DD1 8/23/09 - SC5/6