Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Phenom of Lang, Latina Christiana, Oxford Latin?...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Phenom of Lang, Latina Christiana, Oxford Latin?...

Don't know if anyone will see this message here?

I am a mom/beginning Latin student. :?

Can anyone share how Latina Christiana compares with Phenomenon of Language for beginning Latin students in gr 7-9?

Can anyone here compare Oxford Latin I with Latina Christiana to use with a learning challenged student in 9th gr?

Thanking in advance,
    Anna

Answered in K-8 forum

See this topic in K-8 Curriculum Board: http://www.memoriapress.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14
    Brian Lowe
    www.MemoriaPress.com

Comment

"Inductive" Latin Courses

I have some experience teaching from the Oxford Latin series - believe it or not at the university level. It is one of the newer series which go by the name "inductive." (Another is Ecce Romani, which I am forced to endure as an instructor right now.) The idea is that students will learn how to read and understand Latin simply by reading graded Latin texts. There is a widespread belief that Latin can be acquired in the same way we acquire our primary language. It sounds like a good idea, but it is simply impractical unless you can surround a child with something resembling native speakers of Latin.